In case I haven’t mentioned it before, I have a love-hate relationship with Neil Gaiman.  He’s a wonderful author, for sure, but I can’t shake the feeling that I’ve been seeing a little too much of him lately: in the bookstore, on the big screen and now on the children’s book awards circuit (Gaiman recently won The Newberry Medal for The Graveyard Book and is nominated, it seems, for quite a few other awards).  Seeing a lot of one author isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I wish this type of visibility on all Browne & Miller clients! Still, I just can’t shake the feeling that a lot of other amazing children’s books are getting left out in the wake of The Graveyard Book. But I’m willing to admit that I am sort of being ridiculous with my complaints toward Neil – it’s more important that kids are reading, right? 

 

Gaiman made an appearance on The Colbert Report last night and I was impressed. Not only does he hold his own against a host known to not let his interviewees get a word in, he also brings up some wonderful ideas about writing for kids. Namely, that bad things happen and that life is hard and that these topics are just as important to kid’s books as fluffy bunnies are.  Check it out:

 http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/221843/march-16-2009/neil-gaiman

 

 

 

 

 

